National News Roundup: Year 5, Week 22 (June 13–19)

Kara Hurvitz
4 min readJun 22, 2021

--

It’s another relatively weird news week, though this feels less like the news holding its breath and more like Groundhog Day. I’ll have all the repeats for you below–though nobody enjoys a rerun week, I suppose this could have been worse.

Standard standing reminders still apply: I am no journalist, though I play one in your inbox or browser, so I’m mostly summarizing the news within my area of expertise. NNR summaries often contain some detailed analysis that’s outside my expertise–I’m a lawyer, not a Joe Manchin!–but all offroad adventures are marked with an asterisk. And, of course, for the things that are within my lane, I’m offering context that shouldn’t be considered legal advice. Okay, I think that’s about it for the disclaimers. Onward to the news!

Cleanup in Aisle 45:

There was a small and relatively straightforward amount of Election Rejection news this week, most of which was variation on a theme. Here’s what I have for you this week:

This was also a busy week for Biden Rebuilding, and at least most of it is positive. Here’s what has happened:

Your New Normal:

The Bad:

The Good:

So that’s what I have for this week, and I think it was more than enough. For making it through, you deserve this Daffodil short and a more consistently improved government. I’ll be back next week with more restructured and improved news, and I hope you will be back as well–but in the meantime, feel free to ping the National News Roundup ask box, which is there for your constructive comments. Send me questions! Send me feedback! Send me more hours of sleep!

--

--

Kara Hurvitz

Boots on the ground for social change, one step at a time.